Login | Webmail
You are here: Home News-and-Events 2016 News Republic of Korea delegation visits AIT
Document Actions

Republic of Korea delegation visits AIT

A two-member delegation from the Republic of Korea visited AIT on 25 February 2016, and expressed their intention to resume the constructive relationship with AIT. Led by Mr. Chang Soyc, Counsellor, the Embassy of Republic of Korea in Thailand, it included Mr. Han Jinsup, Director, Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA).

Republic of Korea delegation visits AIT

Mr. Chang Soyc and Mr. Han Jinsup.

Counsellor Chang remarked that he had joined the Embassy recently, and this being his maiden visit to AIT, he was interested in learning about the partnership between AIT and Republic of Korea.

They were welcomed by AIT President Prof. Worsak Kanok-Nukulchai and senior AIT officials, who traced the close partnership between the two. Prof. Worsak mentioned that the Korean government had granted an endowment fund to AIT of $1 million, and the interest accruing from this donation is used to support students. Previously, the Korean government used to depute its seconded faculty members to AIT.  The hub of student activities at AIT was the Korea House building, which is also a gift from the Government of Korea, the visitors were informed.

Mr. Han Jinsup, Director, KOICA, also expressed his interest in learning about research and academic activities at AIT. He inquired about the AIT student internships at the Korea Water Resource Corporation (K-Water).

Currently, AIT has one faculty member and four students from Korea. Dr. Sohee Minsun Kim serves as Assistant Professor in the School of Environment, Resources and Development (SERD); while one student from Korea is enrolled in Master’s program and three in Doctoral programs.

The visitors also went to Korea House, which was buzzing with activity related to the Students’ Union election, where they interacted with representatives of the AIT Students’ Union.

AIT was represented by Prof. Voratas Kachitvichyanukul, Dean, School of Engineering and Technology (SET); Prof. Rajendra Shrestha, Dean, School of Environment, Resources and Development (SERD); Prof. Nazrul Islam, Interim Dean, School of Management; Dr. Sohee Minsun Kim of SERD;  Dr. Surachet Pravinvongvuth of SET; Mr. Karma Rana, Institute Secretary; Mr. Wanchai Sophonsakulr,  Head, Office of Facilities and Assets Management (OFAM); Mr. Shawn Kelly, Acting Head, External Relations and Communications Office (ERCO); Ms. Sumana Shrestha of ERCO; and Ms. Lucena Talaid of Fundraising Office.