Login | Webmail
You are here: Home News-and-Events 2017 News President Obama announces AIT alumnus for key administration post
Document Actions

President Obama announces AIT alumnus for key administration post

US President Barack Obama has named AIT alumnus, and member of the Institute Level Advisory Board (ILAB), Dr. Tissa Illangasekare, as member of the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board (NWTRB). He is among the 11 experts named by President Obama on 6 January 2017 for key administration positions.

President Obama announces AIT alumnus for key administration post

File Photo: Dr. Tissa Illangasekare at AIT in October 2016.

A statement issued by the White House quoted President Obama:“I am pleased to announce that these experienced and committed individuals have decided to serve our country. I know they will serve the American people well.”

The White House communique also mentions AIT in its statement.

It says: “Dr. Tissa Illangasekare is a Distinguished Endowed Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Director of the Center for the Experimental Study of Subsurface Environmental Processes at the Colorado School of Mines, positions he has held since 1998.  Previously, Dr. Illangasekare was a Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering at the University of Colorado, Boulder from 1986 to 1998.  From 1983 to 1986, he was an Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering at Louisiana State University, and from 1978 to 1983, he was a Research Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering at Colorado State University.  Dr. Illangasekare received a B.S. from the University of Ceylon in Sri Lanka, an M.Eng. from the Asian Institute of Technology in Thailand, and a Ph.D. from Colorado State University.”

Dr. Tissa, who graduated from AIT with a Master’s in Water Resources Engineering (1974), was also recently honored with the 7th Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) at an award ceremony organized at the United Nations Headquarters. The event, held on 2 November 2016, was presided by the UN Secretary General HE Ban Ki-moon and HRH Prince Khaled Bin Sultan, Chairman for the committee of the Prince Sultan bin Abdul-Aziz International Prize for Water.

External Links:
White House: https://goo.gl/25CuG3
NWTRB: https://goo.gl/BtJMRz
CSU: https://goo.gl/8YsFJ5
Sunday Times: https://goo.gl/4WKCEs