India ratifies AIT Charter, submits Instrument of Acceptance

The new Charter becomes effective within six months of ratification by
five signatories. The New Charter, which was signed on 25 August 2010,
had witnessed 12 countries and one International organization sign the
Charter that day. The Charter is open for signatories for a period of
one year since its initial adoption. Subsequently Indonesia signed the
Charter on 20 January 2011.

Ambassador of the Republic of India to Thailand, H.E. Mr. Pinak Ranjan
Chakravarty had signed the AIT Charter on 25 August 2010.

So far 13 countries and one international organization have signed the
new AIT Charter. These include Bangladesh, Cambodia, India, Indonesia,
Japan, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Sweden,
Timor-Leste, Thailand and UNIFEM.