Central Administration Structure


Please Note: Since it's announcement, the Central Administration Structure has witnessed some changes on account of retirement/ end-of-tenure of some members. Hence, The structure remains the same, albeit some changes in people. Please read this along with the latest changes as announced on 19 June 2018 https://www.ait.ac.th/2018/06/administrative-structure/


A. AIT Strategic Team (AST)

The AIT Strategic Team (AST) will advise the President on strategic issues of the Institute. Matters to be discussed in AST meetings are strategies, new initiatives and significant matters that may affect AIT future. The AST will consist of President, Vice Presidents, School Deans, Senior Advisers to the President, and the Institute Secretary who shall serve as Secretary. From time to time, related Directors may be invited to join the fortnightly AST meetings, as needed.

B. AIT Management Team (AMT)

At Institute level, the AIT Management Team (AMT) serves as executive body of the Institute. The AMT constitutes the President as Chair, Vice Presidents, School Deans and (Executive) Directors of all Responsibility Centers (RCs). Associate members of AMT include the Institute Secretary, Secretary to the President, other Directors of all Service Centers (SCs), and Compliance Officer. The fortnightly AMT meetings serve as a platform for AMT members to consult, communicate and canvass opinions on a range of matters prior to its endorsement for the final decision by the President.

To enhance the efficiency of AMT Meetings, Standing Committees of AMT were set up to screen and provide expert advice on specific affairs of AIT. These Committees are chaired by regular AMT members. Please see Attachment 1 for the composition of the standing committees of the AIT Management Team.

C. Vice Presidents (VPs)

The AIT Board of Trustees, at its meeting on 18 February 2016, approved the following Vice President structure, and their respective appointments with effect from 1 July 2016.

In performing their duties, the emphasis of the VPs should essentially be on the content and quality assurance aspects of research, education and external relations and not on operational matters. They will provide strategic direction to the Service Centers, provide advice on policy-related issues, and also use the services of the service centers.

  1. Professor Sivanappan Kumar as full-time Vice President for Academic Affairs (VPAA); extensively being delegated the authority within his current areas of responsibilities as VPAA, as well as the areas of responsibilities of the Vice President for Research.
  2. Professor Kazuo Yamamoto as Vice President for Administration (VPA); his position is still based on a joint appointment between AIT (60%) and the University of Tokyo (40%). He will be delegated to supervise all non-school RCs, including AIT Center in Vietnam (AITCV) and any other administrative duties as assigned by the President.
  3. Mr Surendra Shrestha as a new full-time Vice President for Development (VPD); his current areas of responsibilities include the planning and development of strategic relations with all UN agencies, international organizations, partner countries, and alumni, with the goal to enhance our resources generation.

D. Responsibility Center Management (RCM)

AIT will continue its decentralization process based on Responsibility Center Management (RCM), which was created at University of Pennsylvania in the early 1970’s as a response to a financial crisis, and is now widely used in most universities in the US.

RCM provides an incentive structure that encourages and rewards revenue generation and cost saving at all levels. It requires awareness among all faculty and staff members of financial implications of decisions at the policy and operational levels. Under RCM system, a unit in AIT can be categorized as either a responsibility center (RC) or a service center (SC).

E. Responsibility Centers (RC)

A responsibility center (RC) is a unit that is expected to generate sufficient revenue to fully cover its direct and indirect expenses. As a financial incentive, an RC retains part of its net surplus into its Capital Fund.

Currently, AIT has 3 academic RCs (SET, SERD, and SOM), and 12 Outreach RCs (AIT Extension, AIT Solutions, RRC.AP, GIC, CoE‐Nano, CCA@AIT, IntERLab, AITIS, LC, AITCV, Special Degree Programs, and AIT Assets). The current restructure does not affect any change on School Deans, Executive Directors and Directors of all RCs.

F. Service Centers (SCs)

A service center (SC) is a unit whose primary purpose is to provide services and support to President, VPs, Deans and RC Directors within the policy and budget framework established by the Board and the President. At the end of a fiscal year, the cost of all SCs will be allocated among all RC users of services based on pre-determined cost drivers.

In the present administrative restructure exercise, SCs were reorganized to avoid a deep hierarchical structure, in favor of a ‘flat organization structure’, which removes excess layers of management and improves the coordination and speed of communication between operational staff.

The following reorganization, as well as the appointments of their respective Service Center Directors, are with effect from 1 July 2016.

  1. Office of the President (OPRE)
    Secretary of the President: Ms Chotiros Mongkolchotirat
  2. Institute (INST) - Institute and Board secretariat, campus counselling, campus architect, compliance & risk, internal audit
    Institute Secretary: Mr Karma Rana
  3. Office of Academic Administration (OAA) – AIT Management Team and Senate affairs secretariat, information office, Institute policies & procedures, administrative coordination, CLIQ, Faculty evaluation, sponsored & contracted projects
    Director: Mrs Izel Ann M Dante
  4.  Office of Advancement (OADV) – alumni affairs, fundraising, industry relations
    Director: Mr Sanjeev P Jayasinghe
  5. Office of Finance (OFIN) – ledger & receivables, payments & cashier, payroll, reporting
    Director: Mr Noppadon Rittipongshusit
  6. Office of External Relations (OEXR) – cooperation and alliances, partnerships and agreements, donors, positioning, promotions
    Director: Mr Shawn Patrick Kelly
  7. Office of Human Resources Services (OHRS) – HR management, staff bus, employees’ relations & development, HRIS, employees welfare, Medical Clinic
    Director (interim): Mr Jiraphong Bumpenyoo
  8. Office of Facilities & Assets Management (OFAM) – campus maintenance, campus services, management of assets
    Director: Mr Wanchai Sophonsakulrat
  9. Office of Host Country Relations (OHCR) – RTG-AIT Cooperation Plan, host country relations, government relations
    Director: Ms Chalita Lertwinyu
  10. Office of Student Affairs (OSA) – admissions, scholarships & invoicing, registry, career center, student affairs, Student Union
    Director: Ms Laarni B. Roa
  11. Office of Media and Communications (OMCO) – news, social media, media relations & PR, branding, photography, graphic design
    Director: Mr Bajinder Pal Singh
  12. Office of Procurement, Inventory and Assets (OPIA) – procurement & inventory, Legal Issues, Insurance
    Director: Ms Pakkamol Dherapongsthada
  13. AIT Library (LIB) – library services
    Director: Ms Pranee Kiriyanant